My first yarn dying

When it comes to yarn, there are so many different types, weights, and colors. You can get lost in the aisles of your local craft store or yarn shop gazing at all the intricate colors and textures. When you buy from the craft store, the yarns all have name brand labels and dye lots that don’t differ much from each other. When you go to your local yarn shop however, there are many different specialty yarns, a lot of which are hand dyed by someone local or someone who has reached out to local shops to carry their yarns. I always find myself marveling at the different colors and feels of the different fibers. The alpaca yarns are so soft, the wool so warm. So many fiber mixtures to create these beautiful yarns for shawls, sweaters, socks and any other items you can think of to create.

The colors though, that’s what really draws me in. The way each skein is an art piece all in itself. No two exactly alike, yet they are all so closely dyed and gorgeous. I’ve always wanted to try my hand at creating those beautiful combinations of colors. To create little pieces of art that other could use to create something beautiful. After searching through the web for undyed yarn to buy, I finally found Knomad. The yarns were beautiful and priced well. My order arrived within two days! I couldn’t believe how fast the shipment was delivered.

After a few days of Pinterest research, I had enough information about the different ways to hand dye the yarn that I felt confident in taking my first few skeins to the stock pot to color. I chose to use Wilton gel coloring and a low immersion method to create my first dye combo.

I was amazed at how much fun I had picking colors and how nervous I was to see how they turned out. After the whole process, I ended up with my first two beautiful skeins of yarn.

I couldn’t wait to dye the rest! My husband was helpful with naming the different colors I had created. He’s been so supportive and encouraging since I told him I wanted to start hand dying yarns to create my own business. I feel very lucky to have a partner who does what he can to help me find a way to use my passion for yarn to start a business.

The other skeins were dyed within the next few days. All dyed using the same process, but all coming out with beautifully different patterns. If you would like to see how they came out, they can all be viewed at my Etsy shop. https://www.etsy.com/shop/DyedRogueYarns I’m so anxious to purchase another round of yarn to create some new color ways. This whole process has been eye opening on what I want to do career-wise. I have always loved to create things and share them with others. I hope you enjoy my little works of art as much as I enjoyed creating them.

Happy crafting!!

Published by S Dunkel

I am 35 years old. I love to read, write, crochet and garden. I am a mother to two wonderful kids and have a loving and supportive husband who all make my world exciting.

Leave a comment